Walk of Life

BeachscapeSometimes I find myself walking on sand. My grounding beneath my feet crumbles away making it hard to take a step forward.

It is a struggle at first but after a while I forget what it’s like to walk on sturdy ground. If I am lucky I may temporarily come across a patch of firm sand. Here I can balance myself easier – it comes as a relief. I find it easier to take a step forward. I no longer slip as far backwards as I push-off.

Every now and then I may encounter some quicksand. You cannot see it coming but you step right into the midst of it. Maybe one day I will learn to recognise these areas in my walk and choose a different path.

I am forever waiting for the day that I reach the pavement. I hope it will come soon. Maybe someone will guide me there. I will realise how strong I have become. How my mind and body have adapted to the challenge to make me well equipped for my next journey. How my spirit has emerged surrounded by an intense light that radiates as I walk.

I will no longer be focused on moving one foot in front of the other. I will be able to spare some awareness for the beauty surrounding me. I can feel and taste and touch again. I can expand my consciousness to perceive greater things.

And maybe – I can assist others in finding the pavement too.

6 thoughts on “Walk of Life

  1. Nice work baby, this is so true. It reminds me of the Chief Cornerstone of our faith, Jesus Christ Himself, the one the church is built from, He is the Rock that we stand upon, and when we slip, he catches us and lifts us back up helping us move forward with joy unspeakable. Hallelujah! Good job.

Leave a Reply

