Inspiration Day 13: Positive is attractive

Have you ever had that one person in your life who was constantly negative? Who always saw the glass as half empty? I’ve come across people who find something negative in every single situation. I don’t like that dress because it makes me look fat, the book is too long to read, no one cares about me. Now, have you met the person who finds something positive in all these situations? Maybe the dress is a nice colour, or the book was free, or maybe people really do care, you just have to dig deeper to know it. Positive people perceive negative things as a challenge. And this is an opportunity to grow.

Which option is more attractive?

Positive thinking

Lately I have found myself fitting nicely into the first category. I won’t go into detail on that, because I would like to be viewed as attractive :). However, I have found myself gravitating towards people who are generally happy and positive. Is this some kind of 6th sense? Or is it intuition? A innate human instinct? What is it that makes positivity (is that even a word?) and happiness so attractive?

I used to be this person, a year or so ago, who would find themselves surrounded by people and not even sure how they got there in the first place. I found myself talking to people I never thought I would talk to, invited to things that I never thought I would be invited to, doing things I never thought I would do. The power of positive thinking – it’s true.

Even blogging, I find myself attracted to blogs where people post inspirational, positive and motivating posts.

After all, who isn’t attracted to a smile? Or a laugh (although there are some exceptions for this one – such as Janice from Friends…). I’ve grown up being attracted to guys with a good sense of humour and a good outlook on life. And of course, on the opposite side, unattracted to those who mope around feeling sorry for themselves.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is, if you want to see results, then try looking at it from a positive perspective. I know it sounds simple when you read it on here, but it’s bloody hard to put into practice. Start by surrounding yourself with positive people, this way you have no way of escaping!

 

Leave a Reply

